News Headline:  

Irving ISD Honors Top Educators at Teacher of the Year Celebration


Irving, Texas. November 1, 2016

Irving ISD celebrated the 2016 Teachers of the Year with a reception and ceremony on October 25 at MacArthur High School. The honorees represented a breadth of experience and specialties, which together make up a total of 409 years of teaching experience. In addition, this group includes 10 Irving ISD graduates. A walking testament to the district’s motto, success starts here, this marked a special moment as the district named its very own alumni among its brightest educators and leaders. 

The district also officially recognized its 2016 District Teachers of the Year, Dennis Ramos of MacArthur High School and Townsell Elementary School’s Angela Snyder, who was named Region 10 finalist for Elementary Teacher of the Year. A video tribute was created for each. Click here to watch the video created for Ms. Snyder, highlighting how her zeal for teaching physical education sprouted from her experience as a child.Click here to watch the video of Mr. Ramos and hear of his perseverance and unfailing work ethic after being diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma just before the start of this school year. Photos from the celebration can be found on the district Photo Gallery.

Help Irving Weekly Grow by Sharing this Story

Post Your Comments

Please or to comment.

User Comments


No comments yet.

  Community Input:  

In a few words, please tell us what you would like to see on Irving Weekly.