News Headline:  

Irving ISD Election Results: Hunt takes District 2 and Jones Went Unopposed in District 1


Irving, Texas. May 8, 2017

Voters who live in Irving ISD’s single-member District 2 re-elected Nell Anne Hunt to serve a three-year term on the Irving ISD Board of Trustees. Incumbent Dr. Steven Jones was unopposed in this year’s election and will continue his service on the Board.

According to the Dallas County Elections website, the unofficial cumulative results show that Hunt received 66.67 percent of the votes. A total of 1,920 people voted, with 1,179 votes cast during early voting and 741 votes cast on Election Day.

The seven-member Irving ISD Board of Trustees is as follows:

  • Steven Jones - District 1 - Term ends 2020
  • Nell Anne Hunt -  District 2 - Term ends 2020
  • Larry Stipes - District 3 - Term ends 2018
  • Dinesh Mali - District 4 - Term ends 2018
  • A.D. Jenkins - District 5 - Term ends 2019
  • Randy Necessary - District 6 - Term ends 2019
  • Randy Randle - District 7 - Term ends 2019

The specific duties of the Board of Trustees include:

  • To be legally responsible for the education of the students in the District.
  • To make school district policy decisions regarding Irving ISD's operation.
  • To provide tax monies for maintenance and operation of the schools.
  • To submit bond issues to the residents of the District.
  • To govern local school matters, subject to limitations imposed by state and federal laws.
  • To hire the superintendent as its chief administrator and executive officer.

Help Irving Weekly Grow by Sharing this Story

Post Your Comments

Please or to comment.

User Comments


No comments yet.

  Community Input:  

In a few words, please tell us what you would like to see on Irving Weekly.