Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Irving News

Texas Association Against Sexual Assault (TAASA) Honors the Unsung (S)heros of Texas

TAASA pays tribute to those who exhibited outstanding survivor-centered work in Texas in 2013. The awards ceremony takes place during TAASA’s 2014 Annual Conference “Break the Box: Collective Action Against Sexual Violence” on Wednesday, March 12th from 12:15 – 1:30 pm. “There are ordinary people doing extraordinary work across our state. It’s so important to acknowledge the positive difference they are making in the lives of sexual assault survivors as well as make their communities safer, healthy places to live,”said Annette Burrhus-Clay, TAASA’s Executive Director.

The issue of sexual assault has received much media attention recently, especially as it relates to sexual assault in our military and on college campuses. Today, TAASA honors those who rarely make the headlines but instead working quietly behind the scenes helping sexual assault survivors heal while making outstanding contributions to the anti-sexual violence movement in Texas.

2014 TAASA Annual Conference
Awards Luncheon
• Wednesday, March 12,2014 – 12:15 – 1:30 pm
• Sheraton Grand DFW Airport Hotel – 4440 W. John Carpenter Freeway, Irving, TX 75063
For more information on the conference visit

Honorees include the following:
2013 TAASA Awards
Excellence in Media- Brooks Egerton, Dallas Morning News – Dallas, TX
Champion for Social Change-Peggy Helton, Office of the Attorney General – Austin, TX
Vivian Miles Lifetime Achievement Award- D’An Anders, Texas Legal Services Center – Austin, TX
Excellence in Advocacy- Christy Smith – Val Verde County Sheriff’s Office – Del Rio, TX
Harold Cottle Justice Award- Detective Timothy Cromie, Dickinson Police Department – Dickinson, TX
Edith Rust Medical Services Award of Excellence- Nellie Loewen, RN, CA-CP SANE, CFN, University of Texas Medical Branch – Galveston, TX
Community Engagement Award- Crystal Ward, Concho Valley Rape Crisis Center – San Angelo, TX
Community Empowerment Award-Hope Through Health Clinic with Community Care- Austin, TX
Program Volunteer of the Year- Victoria Li, Dallas Area Rape Crisis Center- Dallas, TX

The Texas Association Against Sexual Assault (TAASA) is the statewide organization committed to ending sexual violence in Texas. A non-profit educational and advocacy organization based in Austin, TAASA member agencies comprise a statewide network of more than 80 crisis centers that serve rural as well as metropolitan areas. Founded in 1982, the agency has a strong record of success in community education, legal services, youth outreach, law enforcement training, legislative advocacy, and curricula and materials development. Additional information about TAASA can be found at

You May Also Like