Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Irving Weekly Title

Financial News

Texas Lottery Receives International Recognition for Responsible Gaming Initiatives with WLA Reaccreditation

The Texas Lottery has received reaccreditation from the World Lottery Association (WLA) for its responsible gaming efforts, following the recommendations of the Independent Assessment Panel (IAP). Initially achieving Level 3 certification in 2016, the Texas Lottery has been recertified for a second time, extending its status through 2026.

Gary Grief, executive director of the Texas Lottery, expressed pride in the international recognition of their commitment to responsible gaming. Despite setting sales records, the agency remains focused on upholding WLA's responsible gaming standards and implementing Responsible Gaming Principles into day-to-day operations.

The Texas Lottery demonstrated a strong commitment to self-assessment in implementing the 10 WLA Responsible Gaming structural elements to achieve Level 3 certification. The IAP commended the agency for maintaining a robust responsible gaming program despite budget and resource cuts. Stakeholder engagement with retailers, players, employees, and the Commission, along with a comprehensive retailer program, was also praised.

To promote responsible gaming, the Texas Lottery provides awareness training for retailers, vendors, and employees. Resource information is available through a dedicated Responsible Gambling page on its website and brochures at over 20,000 licensed lottery retail locations in Texas. Responsible gaming messages are integrated into employee and retailer communications and on the official social media accounts.

As a member of WLA, North American Association of State and Provincial Lotteries (NASPL), and a Silver member of the National Council on Problem Gambling (NCPG), the Texas Lottery actively participates in campaigns such as the NCPG-McGill University Gift Responsibly Campaign and the National Problem Gambling Awareness Month campaign held annually in March.

The WLA, an international trade organization representing over 150 lotteries from 80 countries across five continents, requires member organizations to be licensed or authorized to conduct lotteries in their respective jurisdictions. The Texas Lottery, joining WLA in 2014, achieved Level 1 certification that year, Level 2 in 2015, and Level 3 in 2016.

You May Also Like