Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Irving Weekly Title


2014 Athletic Hall of Fame Inductees Excelled from High Schools in Irving to College Fields, the NWSL, PGA and NFL

The Irving ISD Athletic Hall of Fame Committee is pleased to announce the Class of 2014, which recognizes six outstanding inductees including a longtime supporter of Irving athletics, record-breaking coaches and internationally-recognized athletes. Now in its third year, the Irving ISD Hall of Fame is designed to honor those who have contributed to athletic excellence throughout the history of Irving ISD.


The 2014 Hall of Fame inductees will be honored at a banquet on Saturday, June 21 at Irving High School. For sponsorship and/or ticket information, please contact the Irving ISD Athletics Department at 972-600-5215.


The Irving ISD Athletic Hall of Fame inductees are (in alphabetical order):

  • Brandel Chamblee, Analyst for Golf Channel
  • Ruthie Lobb Davis, Volleyball Player
  • Aaron De La Torre, Former NFL Free Agent and Coach at Irving High School
  • Margie Stipes, Community Supporter of Irving ISD’s Athletics
  • Randy Waldrum, Soccer Coach for Houston Dash
  • Murphy Webster, Beloved Coach


Brandel Chamblee

A 1980 graduate of MacArthur High School, Brandel Chamblee attended the University of Texas where he was an NCAA All-American golfer. He turned professional in 1985 and has one PGA Tour victory. Chamblee shared a first round lead at The Master’s in 1999 and for six straight years was among the top-100 money earners on the PGA Tour. He left the PGA Tour in 2003 and since has worked as a golf analyst for the Golf Channel. Still connected locally, Chamblee hosts the Brandel Chamblee Irving Charity Golf Tournament that benefits the Irving Schools Foundation.

Ruthie Lobb Davis

Ruthie Lobb Davis is a 1999 graduate of Irving High School where she was a three-year letterman and All-District performer in volleyball. She led the Tigers to the play-offs each year and was an integral part of the 1997 team that went 32-9 on their way to a district championship and regional quarterfinal appearance. During her high school years, she was a model of hard-work, drive, and determination for her peers. In 1998, Davis was named the Christian Athlete of the Year for the entire state of Texas.

Aaron De La Torre

A 1993 graduate of Irving High School, Aaron De La Torre was an All-District, All-Metro and All-State performer in football. He was a four-year starter at Stephen F. Austin University where he earned honors as an Honorable Mention All–Southland Conference player. De La Torre continued his career after college as a free agent with the Pittsburgh Steelers and Dallas Cowboys. In 1999, he was a 3rd round pick of the Scottish Claymores of NFL Europe. Now Coach De La Torre, he is currently the Athletic Coordinator and Head Football Coach at his alma mater, Irving High School.

Margie Stipes

Margie Stipes has been a tireless supporter of all Irving ISD athletic programs since her arrival to Irving in 1957. Her dedication, support, and behind-the-scenes work is too great to be measured. Stipes’s volunteer positions have included the Irving High School Booster Club, the Nimitz Booster Club where she was president numerous times, multiple PTA leadership posts where she was honored as a Texas and National Life Member, and the Irving Schools Foundation. Recognized for her giving spirit and volunteerism, she was honored in 1998 by Irving ISD as the recipient of the district’s Golden Apple Award. Whether it is cheering at sporting events throughout Irving, or encouraging players and coaches as they come off of the field after a tough game, Stipes’s commitment to the students and staff of Irving ISD has been unwavering since her arrival to the community of Irving. In 2006 when Irving ISD opened its 20th elementary school, Irving ISD honored Margie and her late husband by naming the campus John W. and Margie Stipes Elementary School.

Randy Waldrum

Randy Waldrum graduated from MacArthur High School in 1975 and was a pioneer in the sport of high school soccer. While soccer was not an official UIL sport until 1982, Waldrum captained the Cardinal club team in 1974 and 1975, paving the way for those who would follow. Waldrum continued his playing career after leaving high school at Midwestern State University where he received All-Conference honors all four years. After college, he was drafted by the Los Angeles Skyhawks in the American Soccer League and also played for the Indianapolis Daredevils. He began his coaching career in 1982 at Austin College and shortly thereafter returned to MacArthur to lead the inaugural Cardinal soccer program. In 1988, Waldrum made the jump back into the collegiate ranks becoming the head coach of the men’s soccer team at Texas Wesleyan University. From there, he went to the University of Tulsa where he was named Missouri Valley Conference Coach of the Year and Midwest Regional Coach of the Year in 1983. After leaving Tulsa—where he remains the all-time winning coach of both the men’s and women’s programs—he became the head coach of the women’s soccer team at Baylor University. While at Baylor, Waldrum was named the National Coach of the Year in 1996 and the Big 12 Coach of the Year in 1988 after winning the conference championship. In 1999, he left to take on duties as the head women’s coach of the Notre Dame Fighting Irish. Waldrum led the Irish to National Championships in 2004 and 2010. He is currently the head coach of the Houston Dash of the National Women’s Soccer League (NWSL).


Murphy Webster

Murphy Webster came to Irving ISD in 1959 and remained here until his retirement in 1991. Coach Webster served in numerous roles including teacher, assistant coach, head coach, vice principal, middle school principal, and high school principal while working in Irving. He was the head track coach at Irving High School from 1959 to 1967 and led the Tigers to the District Championship in 1964. As head track coach, he had countless regional qualifiers and coached a back-to-back state champion in the hurdles. He was the head football coach at Irving High School from 1964 to 1967. While his coaching accomplishments speak for themselves, Coach Webster’s greatest impact came on the students he worked with on a daily basis. There was a common theme in reading the numerous letters from former players and students. “Coach Webster was a teacher, mentor, role model, and gave his heart and soul to his kids. We are better human beings today because of Coach Webster.” One player was quoted as saying, “I was fortunate to play for some very great coaches in college: Larry Lacewell, Boyd Converse, Sandy Sands, and Jimmy Johnson were the most notable. Murphy Webster was the best coach of all. He could inspire young men like no other coach I ever had.”



The following alums were inducted into the Hall of the Fame the past two years:

The 2013 Class:

  • Michael Huff, Nimitz athlete
  • Kerry Cooks, Nimitz athlete
  • Joe Perryman, coach
  • Anne Uhr, coach
  • Joy and Ralph Ellis, community contributors


The 2012 Class:

  • Akin Ayodele, MacArthur athlete
  • Cedric Colby, MacArthur athlete
  • Alan Lowry, Irving athlete
  • David Rose, Irving athlete
  • Deeanna Williams, Nimitz athlete
  • Mike Farda, coach
  • Bob Harrell, coach and athletic director
  • Dick Lear, community contributor

You May Also Like