Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Irving Weekly Title

Health News

Medical City Las Colinas State Recognized for Breastfeeding Initiatives

Medical City Las Colinas continues to be a leader in improving the health of newborns and infants by earning the Texas Ten Step Program facility designation from the Texas Health and Human Services Commission for the fourth time.

The Texas Ten Step Program encourages breastfeeding as the preferred feeding method for newborns and infants.

“Medical City Las Colinas is proud to be the destination of choice for maternity care that supports, protects and promotes breastfeeding,” says Jessica O’Neal, CEO of Medical City Las Colinas. “Since being named a Texas Ten Step Program in 2010, our team of skilled and compassionate caregivers has worked to maintain this designation and support new moms with breastfeeding education and resources.”

Based on the World Health Organization and UNICEF’s Ten Steps to Successful Breastfeeding standards in care, the program aims to assist a birthing facility’s support of breastfeeding mothers before, during and after delivery; encourages them to identify breastfeeding resources for the mother after she is discharged; and assists facilities in improving on national performance measures. According to Texas Health and Human Services statistics, health outcomes improve for all families when facilities implement the Ten Steps.

You May Also Like